It was -2 degrees Celsius this morning…needless to say, we did not emerge from our beds with the roosters…actually, even the roosters decided to keep a lid on it as we didn’t hear any until later. There is one here whose crow sounds a lot like a rooster we had in Gambella…”Oh what shall I do?” he laments…no-one ever gives an answer.

It suddenly dawned on me that our dear American friends and family will not quite understand our reluctance to crawl out from under our duvets…we do not have central heating (or cooling for that matter) and the cold out there is the cold in here as well!

But in spite of a late start, we did get quite a bit accomplished. We worked on our itinerary and our scholarship fund project application and got a few items we still needed for the road. Louise cooked a few ready-to-pop-in-the-microwave-and-eat meals for the Queen and we ended the day with family, doing what our family loves to do…braaing…which is not exactly the same as American Barbecuing.

Right now this is what the next two weeks will look like.

Monday June 26 – Swellendam and Mosselbay – sleep over in George

Tuesday June 27 – George (Bishop’s Council 10 AM) – sleep over in PE
Wednesday June 28 – PE Meeting at 11 AM – sleep over in Port Alfred
Thursday June 29 – Grahamstown – no meetings set up yet – sleep over Port Alfred
Friday June 30 – to Mthatha
Saturday July 1 – Mthata
Sunday July 2 РMthatha РCelebration service 
Monday July 3 – to Molteno (Day off)
Tuesday July 4 – to East London for meeting – sleep over in East London
Wednesday July 5 – to Plettenberg Bay – sleep over there
Thursday July 6 – morning and afternoon meetings in Plettenberg Bay – sleep over there
Friday July 7 – head on home – we may stop over in Villiersdorp if we feel it is too far for one day’s drive.
The map below shows more or less the way we will be driving except we turn off to go to Mthatha (which here is spelled Umtata). We will also be going inland to Molteno, a small town where Louise’s Dutch family and my British family lived three generations ago. In spite of the Boer War raging all around them, these families stayed friends which only goes to show it can be done in Jesus!